Home > Reviews, Video Game, Weight Loss > Going, going, gone! Why you should consider adding the Wii Fit to your weight loss plan…

Going, going, gone! Why you should consider adding the Wii Fit to your weight loss plan…

Note: Please refer to this follow-up post for further information and/or updates…

When I first decided to start this blog, the main idea I had was to write about my weight loss and the wonders of the Wii Fit system. This idea has since expanded to encompass multiple forms of geekery, but I still feel that this review is a must-read for anyone still on the fence about the Wii Fit program’s benefits.

I’ve never been a stick figure. I come from a long line of non-stick-figure women on my mother’s side. I was a respectable  132 lbs at 5’5″ when I was in the 8th grade, and then spent high school bouncing between 145 lbs and 155 lbs at 5’7″. During my pregnancy with my first daughter, however, I had quite a few health problems which resulted in my gaining 80 lbs in the 2nd and 3rd trimester. In the intervening nine years, I have consistently maintained a weight somewhere above 200 lbs aside from a period of six months, before I met my husband, where I weighed in at 185 lbs. The worst of it was within the last three years, when I came off of Depo Provera and ballooned 60 lbs within 2.5 months. Follow that up with getting pregnant with my youngest and you have me weighing in at 250 lbs from April ’09 through March ’10.

Before April 2010, I weighed in at 245-250lbs...

I had experimented with multiple weight-loss and diuretic supplements, vitamin B, and Slim-Fast. I started using Slim-Fast again earlier this spring. A friend and neighbor loaned me her Wii and Wii Fit in the middle of April this year.  I had started to lose a little weight, with the Wii telling me initially that I was 232 lbs, then rebounded back up to 240-245lbs by the time I borrowed the system from her.  At first, I hated it.  Have you ever been to the gym and had an overzealous trainer, or even gone on a walk with a friend who’s a health nut, and they’re constantly yelling in your face that you won’t be healthy until you’re half the person you are today? Yeah. I hated her Wii.

The first time I stepped onto the weight-sensing balance board, it took my little cartoon Mii (the avatar you create for each user of the Wii) and gave her a double chin and tent-sized waistline, pronouncing me “obese”. I had a BMI (Body Mass Index) of about 36 and it claimed I had the body of a 35-year-old. I’m 27, so this was a bit of an ego-slam. Immediately after the weigh-in, the Wii provides some balance, judgment, and agility tests. During the process, it also assesses the user’s center of balance (C.O.B.). I was always lectured about my posture while I was growing up, but I never realized how horribly it screws up one’s neck, back, hips, and knees to have a poor center of balance!

Once I passed through the gauntlet of ego-bruising facts and admonishments, I was presented with the Wii Fit training menu. Trust me when I say that there is something for everyone on the Wii Fit. I had never done yoga before in my life, but I found the yoga exercises in my routine fun and helpful. There are also strength training exercises, balance games, and aerobic games. I’ve become a master at the snowball fight, which gives your forearms, agility, and sense of timing a run for their money!

At this point, you’re probably asking what sort of results one can expect from the Wii Fit. My answer is this: you lose what you work off. My initial commitment was to do a half-hour workout for five days a week, burning 145 calories a session. I started with yoga exercises as a warm-up, moved on to balance games, did some basic strength training to work on developing muscle in trouble areas (abdomen, triceps, thighs, etc.), then did aerobics and cardio for the rest of the session. Since moving and encountering the stress of finals, I’ve been more than a little lax in the exercise department lately. I went from working out once a week for the first three weeks of June, then nothing from June 14th to July 7th. I logged into Wii Fit yesterday, but only to weigh myself and record my stats.

I’d like to think it’s momentum from the workouts I did at the start that has gotten me as far as I am, combined with my three-shakes-a-day on the Slim-Fast plan. However, I know that what will convince you to give the system a shot is reading about my success. Here’s the raw numbers:

  • April: Weighed between 245-250.
  • April 21st: Began working out on Wii Fit five times a week. Also, increased my meal frequency to six small meals per day, with three or four of them being Slim-Fast shakes or snack bars and the rest well-balanced meals composed of healthy carbs (wheat pasta, whole grain breads, etc.) and protein.
  • Mid-May: Went to the OB/GYN, who was constantly upset about me being “obese”, for final checkup before moving; weighed in at 230 lbs.
  • June 14: Weighed 216 lbs. (This was the last time I exercised regularly on the Wii Fit.)
  • July 7: Weighed 185 lbs. (This was with no exercise on the Wii Fit in the intervening 3 weeks, just normal errand-running and climbing stairs.)
  • July 14: Weighed 167lbs. (I’m thrilled!)

As of July 14, I weighed 185. A week later, the Wii claimed I weighed in at 167!

As you can see, I’ve lost around 80 lbs in about three months! I’m not done yet, either, as my target weight is 140 lbs. I hope to be there by Halloween, and since I somehow managed to drop 31 lbs in three weeks of no exercising, I think that’s more than achievable.

I believe the trick is in designing your own exercise regimen and sticking to a diet plan that works. With the Wii Fit, I can set my own exercises that seem fun to me, track my weight loss and BMI history, input physical activity I’ve done outside of Wii Fit (e.g. laundry, going for a walk, climbing flights of stairs, etc.), and set progress goals. I’m horrible at remembering to take pills, and always hated diet shakes. However, I found the chocolate flavor of the Slim-Fast drink mix has really improved since the last time I tried it. It’s almost addictive! I fudged a bit, though, since the mix says to use skim milk and I insist on using 2% or whole milk (Lactaid, since I’m lactose intolerant…) instead. I pretty much eat what I want for my other two meals, as Carl’s Jr. employees can attest… I’m a sucker for their Six-Dollar Burgers. I cut down on sodas, however, and substituted in Sobe Life Water of varying flavors, although Fuji Apple Pear is my favorite: it’s not too sweet and has 35% daily value of chromium, a major ingredient in diet pills.

The main benefit to using the Wii Fit, aside from increasing strength, agility, decreasing my weight, and speeding up my metabolism, is that I just feel good after a workout. I can discern a noticeable change in how my back (which has been in chronic pain for years, due to three pregnancies and multiple car accidents over the years) feels afterward, and I move around a heck of a lot faster! I’m not out of breath when I pick up my daughter anymore, and was able to give her her first piggyback ride myself yesterday! I’ve gone from being “sedentary” to “mildly inactive”, which doesn’t seem like much of a change in lifestyle, admittedly, but my husband and friends say they notice the difference.

Now for the legal disclaimer: I’m not being paid by Nintendo (who makes the Wii), Sobe, or the makers of Slim-Fast. I wouldn’t turn down a free something-or-other for my troubles, but as of this post I am not being reimbursed in any way. My results are not typical. Please do not become discouraged if your results are not exactly as fast as mine, and do not deprive yourself of food in an attempt to speed things up. Always talk to your doctor before beginning a rapid weight loss program, even if it’s of your own design.

Feel free to leave questions, comments, or your own Wii Fit success story!

  1. July 16, 2010 at 11:08 am

    way to go!!!

    • Kella
      July 16, 2010 at 1:22 pm

      Thanks! ^_^ I never thought I’d get the weight off, been struggling with it for years… then it just started falling off so quickly! lol

  2. July 17, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Amazing results! We have the Wii Fit too and we were good about it in the winter but as Spring and Summer came we’ve ignored it for more outdoor activities. Now it’s too hot to be outside for long though so we should definitely pull it back out. Any favorite events to recommend? 😉

    • Kella
      July 18, 2010 at 5:58 pm

      I’m the same way, more or less… I have a hard time breathing in high temperatures, so summers I’m way less active than I should be. 😦 Probably the main reason why I haven’t exercised much on the Wii Fit in the last month and a half. Gotta fix that. lol

      My normal routine starts with the half-moon yoga pose, followed by the warrior stance, followed by a mix-up consisting of some of the following: Hula-hoop (or Super Hula-hoop), basic and intermediate step dance, a quick session with the obstacle course, then cool down with rhythm kung-fu, torso twists, tricep extension, and snowball fight.

      Sometimes I vary it up, especially since I’ve started doing the parade exercise… But my coordination is notoriously bad, so I tend to stay away from balance games since the results are dismal. 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

