Home > Knitting > Rrrrrriiiiippppit!

Rrrrrriiiiippppit!

… There’s a reason they call it “frogging”. I’ve heard that sound so many times over the last four days while designing my socks. There’s a couple of reasons for this. First, I didn’t realize that my preference for cuff-down construction would hinder my pattern of leaves climbing from toe to sock cuff (edited because I can’t think and type at the same time, apparently). Unfortunately, the stitches only seem to work right in one direction. Second, while I love the colorway of my skein of Berocco Sox Metallic, it’s not the feel I prefer for this particular pattern. The wool is too wiry, and unfortunately has begun to bunch up or unravel due to the amount of times I’ve frogged it. I’m going to develop a completely different pattern for the wool.

I’ve since switched to the bamboo sock yarn that I’ve had in reserve for my other roommate’s socks: Kertzer On Your Toes, in the colors Mystical Grape and Dark Sage.
beginning leaves sock

Since my roommate picked these colors, this seemed like the perfect pattern to try out with them, and so far she loves it!

Those spirals on either side seem to be working out nicely, although I goofed and spaced them erratically the first few rows. Maybe that’s nifty enough to work, or maybe I should just make it every other row? What do you think?

Categories: Knitting
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

