Home > Reviews, School > Homework helpers…

Homework helpers…

September 26, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Admittedly, I’ve been lax in posting for the last week or so.  All I can do is offer up my apologies and blame my inattention to blogging on being overwhelmed with caring for a hyperactive toddler, painting models, driving the husband to/from work, difficult algebra homework, and knitting.  Not necessarily in that order.

Math has never been my strongest subject. I had a test due today, and my brain started checking out after the second or third problem.  After much Google-searching, I found the Mathway: Algebra Problem Solver.

Now, before you think that I cheated using this program (which is possible, and I thoroughly frown on such a use), I actually only input similar problems.  Girl scout’s honor.  I have a personal ethical standard with regard to that sort of thing.

The reason I like the program, however, is because it gives detailed, step-by-step instructions on how the site solved the math problem entered by the user.  So, say I have the following problem on a math test:

19-7y-3y<39
I would input a similar problem into the math program, such as:

13+8y-2y<43
The math program then takes my problem and dissects it, step-by-step, using the mnemonic PEMDAS (Parentheses, Exponents, Multiplication, Division, Addition, Subtraction).  This way, I can see exactly how to solve such a problem and apply it to the question that’s giving me so much grief.

Also, the site lets you generate custom worksheets based around similar problems to what you’re asking about, or generate random problem worksheets based on specific algebra categories.  This way, you can focus your studies on whatever areas are giving you the most difficulties and go from there!

In my opinion, as long as the individual remembers not to cheat, this is a perfect tool to use for the online student, or any parent who’s having difficulty with their teenager’s math homework!

Categories: Reviews, School
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

